Editor's Message
Around Campus
Faculty Briefs
Interview with Kathy Greenberg
Free Press
Guantánamo Detainee Case
Baghdad Diary
Eve Ensler
Alumni News
Class Actions
View As PDF

Justice O’Connor Encourages 2004 Graduates to “Build Bridges”
Cardozo Pioneers Return to Celebrate 25th Reunion
Twists and Turns on the Fast Track to Partner Tammy Bieber ’95
Cardozo Graduates Join Forces at Law Firm
Cardozo Women Off to a Strong Start
Berg Foundation Funds Stipends for Fourth Year
New Appointments Announced for Career Services and Development
Sheri Rosenberg ’94 Directs New Human Rights And Genocide Prevention Clinic
Alumni Admitted to US Supreme Court
Alumni Association Elects New Members to Executive Committee
Cardozo Alumni $1 Million Challenge
Board News
Class Actions

President Bush Names Earle Mack Ambassador to Finland

Former Cardozo Board Chairman Earle I. Mack passes the gavel to Kathy Greenberg.

Former Cardozo Board Chairman Earle I. Mack has been appointed Ambassador to Finland by President George W. Bush. He was sworn in as Ambassador on May 28, and presented his credentials to the President of Finland, Tarja Halonen, on June 10, 2004.

Mr. Mack is the third former Cardozo Board member to hold the rank of Ambassador. Cardozo’s first chairman, Morris Abram, was Ambassador to the United Nations in Geneva under President George H.W. Bush and Eric M. Javits is US Permanent Representative to the Conference on Disarmament, a position he has held for several years.

When Mr. Mack passed the gavel to new Board Chair Kathy Greenberg, he ended a stellar tenure that covered more than 20 years as a Board member, 12 of them as chair. Mr. Mack said, “This does not mark the end of my love for this great school.”

Ambassador Mack was elected to the Cardozo Board in 1980 and was voted chair in 1992, a position he held until his appointment as Ambassador. Among his many achievements as chairman, he indicated he was most proud of “the election for the first time of a chair from the ranks of the Cardozo alumni.” Ambassador Mack oversaw the renovation of 55 Fifth, assisted with scholarships, and provided funds for numerous projects and events at Cardozo from the redesign of the Web site to bringing King Juan Carlos of Spain to the Law School.

YU President Richard Joel marked the occasion by saying, “You led a school from having great aspirations to achieving those aspirations … you are a true miracle worker. We will miss you, we wish you well. You are a wonderful guiding spirit and great champion.”

Ambassador Mack has a long history associated with business, the arts, education, public service, and thoroughbred racing. He was senior partner and chief financial officer of the almost century-old Mack Company. The firm, headquartered in Rochelle Park, NJ, invests, develops, and manages income-producing commercial real estate. Ambassador Mack was chairman of the New York State Council on the Arts, a member of the board of trustees for American Friends of the Paris Opera and Ballet, and a member of the board of directors of the New York City Ballet, among other arts organizations. (An interview with Ambassador Mack is in the spring 2003 issue of Cardozo Life.)

Lautenberg Takes on New Role

Frank Lautenberg

Another Board member, Senator Frank Lautenberg of New Jersey, was also in the news this spring. A long article in the June 5 issue of The New York Times focused on the Senator’s new role as Democratic spokesman against the Republican administration and as “one of the most surprising and talked-about members of that staid body.” Since winning reelection two years ago, Senator Lautenberg has called for the resignation of Donald H. Rumsfeld, ridiculed Vice President Dick Cheney on the floor of the Senate, called on Attorney General John Ashcroft to open an investigation of the Treasury Department’s decision to conduct a highly critical analysis of a tax plan proposed by John Kerry, and was the first Senate Democrat to raise questions about Pentagon- awarded contracts to Halliburton.

According to the article, Mr. Lautenberg “no longer feels he has anything to lose politically as he serves out what is likely to be his last term in office, according to people who are close to him.” Lautenberg was first elected to the Senate in 1982 and represented New Jersey for 18 years. He was elected to a fourth term in 2002, after having come out of retirement to run in place of Robert Torricelli, who was involved in an ethics scandal.

Board Elects Brusiloff, Re-Elects Others

At its meeting in June, the Cardozo Board elected Paul Brusiloff a member. A partner with Debevoise & Plimpton LLP and a 1991 summa cum laude graduate of the Law School, where he served as editor-in-chief of Cardozo Law Review, Brusiloff is the 11th graduate to join the Law School’s Board. Dean David Rudenstine said, “Paul will bring to the Board energy, enthusiasm, and good judgment.”

“Cardozo gave me a strong foundation,” Brusiloff said. “I look forward to seeing Cardozo continue its tradition of providing the highest-quality legal education, and I’m honored and excited about the opportunity to work with my fellow Board members and with the Law School’s outstanding faculty to help see that the Law School continues to flourish.”

Following graduation, Brusiloff served for two years as a law clerk to the Hon. Carol Los Mansmann, US Court of Appeals, Third Circuit. He joined the New York office of Debevoise in 1993 and is a member of the securities and finance practice groups within the corporate department. He has developed a broad practice in corporate finance and securities offerings, including debt and equity financing, and recapitalization and restructuring transactions. His practice has also included equipment finance work and aviation matters.

After earning a B.A. from Harvard University in 1986, where he was active in music and theater, Mr. Brusiloff was a freelance musician and composer, and was an artist-in-residence at Harvard in 1986–87.

The Cardozo Board also re-elected the following directors for a term to expire in June 2006: Ronnie Heyman, Stephen Judlowe, Nate Kacew ’98, Stephen Katz, Thomas H. Lee, Mark S. Lieberman ’84, Jeffrey H. Loria, Barry A. Shenkman, Stephen B. Siegel, Stephen A. Weiss ’90, and Sheldon H. Solow.